Rural Woman of Year Announced

NT Government

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists of the national AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award, including the Territory’s Amy Kirke.

The Rural Women’s Award is proudly supported by the Territory Government and this year, Darwin-based Amy Kirke represented the NT in the national awards.

Cara Peek from Western Australia was announced as the winner, and Cressida Cains of New South Wales as the runner-up.

Broome-based lawyer and social innovator Cara Peek received the National Winner award for her work co-founding Saltwater Country, helping drive employment opportunities for First Nations people in remote Australia, while National Runner Up winner and dairy farmer Cressida Cains had her work on a not-for-profit digital platform for small-scale farmers recognised.

The annual awards celebrate the achievements of women from the rural communities and industries and provides a platform to inspire and support women in the sector.

Northern Territory women are encouraged to apply for the 2022 award, with applications open until 28 January 2022.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.