Students bound for Vietnam to commemorate war history

  • 16th annual Premier’s Anzac Student Tour participants announced
  • 10 students will commemorate Anzac servicemen and women in Vietnam 

Ten secondary students are set to share in a rare and extraordinary history lesson after being selected for the Premier’s 2019 Anzac Student Tour.


The students, together with two teacher supervisors and a tour co-ordinator, will travel to Vietnam from April 16 to 26, 2019 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Battle of Binh Ba.


As part of the 10-day tour, students will visit historic sites in Ho Chi Minh City, Nui Dat, Vung Tau, Long Tan, Hue and Hanoi.


To commemorate Anzac Day on April 25, students will attend the dawn service at the Australian Embassy in Hanoi.


The Premier’s Anzac Student Tour competition is open annually to all Western Australian students in Years 8 to 11, who are selected for the tour following a written submission and interviews.


Next year will take the total number of passionate young ambassadors who have represented the State as part of the overseas study tour to 210.


As noted by Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:


“The Premier’s Anzac Student Tour provides an important opportunity for young people to commemorate the service and sacrifice of Anzac servicemen and women.


“Each year it is great to see that more students are keen to take part in the tour and learn about Australia’s military history overseas.


“For most of the students attending next year’s tour, it will be their first time in Vietnam and a great opportunity to immerse themselves in history while experiencing the country’s culture.


“I’m sure the students will have some incredible stories to share with their classmates and their communities.”



Student Tour participants (with current year group)

Eva Mustapic Applecross Senior High School Year 9
Bree Potter Broome Senior High School Year 9
Thomas McGrath Christ Church Grammar School Year 10
Lily Pedretti Iona Presentation College Year 9
Nathan Moore Kununurra Senior High School Year 9
Matilda Miller Manjimup Senior High School Year 10
Emily-Rose Lochore Margaret River Senior High School Year 9
Elias Shoosmith Mindarie Senior College Year 11
Erin-Louise Peoples Rossmoyne Senior High School Year 9
Stuart Smith Wesley College Year 11



Teacher supervisors

Ms Alycia Bermingham Manjimup Senior High School
Mr Brian Owen Governor Stirling Senior High School

/Public Release. View in full here.