Students recognised with nation-first Respect Awards


Ten students from Government, Catholic and Independent schools have been recognised for high standards of respectful behaviour, inclusiveness and community-mindedness at the State's first Premier's Respect Awards.

Premier Dominic Perrottet said the aim of the new annual awards is to lift student behaviour in schools by giving respectful conduct the same high regard and prestige as academic achievement.

"I am in awe of the nominations we received for our first Respect Awards. It's such an honour to recognise these extraordinary young people who are having such a positive impact on our school communities every day," Mr Perrottet said.  

"I'd like to congratulate all students who were recognised and thank their teachers, principals and school support staff for their efforts putting forward nominations."

Minister for Education and Early Learning Sarah Mitchell said the awards are an initiative to recognise and encourage high standards of behaviour in schools. 

"Respect is an important component of developing a student's interpersonal relationships and personal identity," Ms Mitchell said. 

"Being respectful is something we all should do in our daily lives, and it is important that as a society we are proud of and celebrate respectful behaviour from our students."

All 3,165 schools across NSW were invited to nominate a student in recognition of their respectful conduct. Each nominated student received a certificate at their school, with ten exemplary students recognised yesterday at the first NSW Premier's Respect Awards Showcase. 

   Applications were reviewed by a panel chaired by Emeritus Professor Judyth Sachs and representatives from the Association of Independent Schools NSW, Catholic Schools NSW and the NSW Department of Education. 


  • Ethan Cheal, Year 11, Minerva School, Sutherland (NSW Government School)
  • Jorja Croese, Year 7, Arise Christian College, Metford (Association of Independent Schools NSW)
  • Gianfranco Dabbene, Year 11, Freeman Catholic College, Bonnyrigg Heights (Catholic Schools NSW)
  • Kobe Erickson, Year 6, Narellan Vale Public School (NSW Government School)
  • Aisha Hookey, Year 1, Toongabbie East Public School (NSW Government School)
  • Jade Kearney, Year 5, Broadwater Public School (NSW Government School)
  • Maram Robi, Year 10, Al-Faisal College Liverpool (Association of Independent Schools NSW)
  • Hemakesh Saravanan, Year 10, St Francis Catholic College, Edmondson Park (Catholic Schools NSW)
  • Arly Seaton, Year 2, Lightning Ridge Central School (NSW Government School)
  • Tyrone Vatubuli, Year 11, Kildare Catholic College, Wagga Wagga (Catholic Schools NSW)
/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.