Success at Local Government Awards

Council was acknowledged in two categories when the 2020 Local Government New South Wales Awards were announced this afternoon at a virtual ceremony.

Council was the winning entry in Division B (population 30,000 – 70,000) for an RH Dougherty Award in the category “Reporting to Your Community”, for its MyTRC Online Community. Feedback from the judges congratulated Council for demonstrating innovation, noting that it “has listened and is prepared to listen and act on what their community wants and needs.” The platform was acknowledged as an avenue for all ages to communicate with Council.

Submissions in this category came from Councils including Central Coast Council, Coffs Harbour City Council, Narrabri Shire Council and Tenterfield Shire Council.

Council was also awarded a Highly Commended in Division B (population 30,000 – 70,000) of the Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Awards, for the Tamworth Regional Museums Engagement Strategy. This strategy outlines a framework for preserving the

Tamworth region’s heritage by supporting and developing ten public museum and social history collections located across the Tamworth Local Government Area.

Submissions in this category came from Councils including Bega Valley Shire Council, Blacktown City Council, Coffs Harbour City Council and Wagga Wagga City Council.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.