Sunshine Coast Rotary Police Officer of year

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services the Honourable Mark Ryan MP joined Commissioner Ian Stewart, Assistant Commissioner Clem O’Regan and Superintendent Darryl Johnson to announce and acknowledge the Sunshine Coast Rotary Police Officer of the year.

This is the second year that Rotary Sunshine Coast Central has hosted the Sunshine Coast Police Officer of the Year award.

This award was initiated by Rotary Sunshine Coast Central in 2018 in recognition of outstanding service given by Queensland Police Service officers on the Sunshine Coast.

Minister Ryan said that nominations were called for from community members and colleagues for officers that are courteous, respectful, genuinely kind and compassionate.

“All of the nominee’s here tonight have gone far beyond what is expected of an officer and together, with the Queensland community, I thank all of you,” Minister Ryan said.

“Tonight is a great opportunity to applaud local police officers and raise awareness of the contribution made by the service in this community.”

Thirteen officers were nominated by the Sunshine Coast community this year and of those nominated, six were shortlisted.

Those officers were:

  • Senior Sergeant Ben Carroll, Officer in Charge Noosa Division
  • Senior Sergeant Gary Brayley, Officer in Charge Nambour Division
  • Senior Constable Tegan Grasso, Maroochydore
  • Senior Constable Mark Jones, Noosa
  • Senior Constable Pierre Senekal, Officer in Charge Kenilworth Division
  • Detective Senior Constable Katie Tomlins, Sunshine Coast District Child Protection and Investigation Unit

Commissioner Stewart said that the committee had a tremendously hard decision to make in choosing this year’s winner.

“This was an extremely hard decision by the committee as all nominees are excellent officers and all worthy of this nomination,” Commissioner Stewart said.

Commissioner Stewart was proud to announce this year’s worthy winner as Senior Constable Pierre Senekal, Officer in Charge Kenilworth Division.

“Senior Constable Senekal was nominated with overwhelming support from his local community.

“This year’s winner engages with community members and visitors and lets everyone know that he is there to help and keep the community safe.

“Senior Constable Senekal is an asset to the Sunshine Coast community.”

/Public Release. View in full here.