Time to showcase your town in 2019 Tidy Towns Awards


Indigo Shire Mayor, Cr Bernard Gaffney, is encouraging towns and organisations across the shire to showcase their communities in the Keep Victoria Beautiful 2019 Tidy Towns – Sustainable Communities Awards.

Cr Gaffney said the Tidy Towns Awards celebrate sustainability achievements of rural and regional communities across Australia.

“Indigo Shire has been recognised a number of times through the Tidy Towns Awards over the years. This recognition is testament to the pride and dedication of individual and community groups working to protect and enhance our local environment.

“Anyone can enter the awards, from individuals and community groups to clubs and committees – I encourage everyone in Indigo Shire to get involved and I look forward to seeing some local projects included in the shortlist,” he said.

Beechworth community member Iris Mannik has been involved for more than 25 years in gathering and collating entries for the Tidy Towns – Sustainable Communities Awards.

“Being involved in the Tidy Towns family is rewarding and engaging while proudly showcasing the diversity of the sustainable living in our community,” she said.

The awards recognise community achievements by directing the spotlight to innovative and inspiring community projects. Entrants from previous years showcased:

  • civic, cultural and environmental activities
  • development and enhancement of community facilities and amenity
  • schools’ environmental programs and initiatives
  • enhancing sustainability of local environments
  • litter prevention, recycling programs and community clean-up initiatives
  • protection of the natural environment.

There is no limit to the number of projects or initiatives you can enter and the awards are open to anyone – individuals, community and groups such as Landcare, service clubs, committees or “friends of” groups. Local youth and school groups from kindergarten to secondary school including junior Landcare and environmental groups, Scout and sporting clubs, are all encouraged to enter their projects.

The awards open on 26 April and close on 14 June 2019. Judging will take place mid-July to mid-August. The state finalists will gather at Dimboola on 26 October for the awards presentation.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.