Wilson Plumbing and Drainage and Geelong Fire Services take home major Awards

The fifth annual Plumbing and Fire Industry Awards (PFIA) were held Friday 13 September 2019 at The Melbourne Room, Melbourne Convention Centre. This year the PFIA was combined with the World Plumbing Conference 2019 Gala Dinner and had over 750 local and international plumbing and fire protection industry participants, award winners, partners, friends and family members in attendance.

PFIA celebrates the achievements of some those who have excelled in their trade or whose work has made a great impact for their company or the industry.

Distinguished guests at the event included Mark McManus, General President of the United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada (UA), the Executive Board of the World Plumbing Council, Commissioner Carmel Coate of the Victorian Building Authorityand Sue Eddy, CEO of the Victorian Building Authority.

Sixteen Plumbing and Fire Industry Awards were presented as well as six Distinguished Service Awards that were presented by the World Plumbing Council.

Major award winners were Geelong Fire Services and Wilson Plumbing and Drainage who were joint recipients of the Project of the Year Award. Geelong Fire Services were awarded for their work on the Australia 108 building. Australia 108 is a residential supertall skyscraper currently under construction in Melbourne. Wilson Plumbing and Drainage were awarded for their work on Stage 2 of the Melbourne and Olympic Park refurbishment, which includes Rod Laver Arena, home to the Australian Open.

A highlight of the night was the inaugural presentation of the Lou Maglio Australian Apprentice of the Year Medal. Lou Maglio was an industry champion who tragically passed in late 2018. The medal has been created to honour his legacy in the Fire Protection industry and is presented to the Australian Fire Protection Apprentice of the Year. Jack Carter from Combined Fire Systems in South Australia was selected as the inaugural winner of this prestigious award out of a pool of five state finalists.

Brandon Bresolin of Plumbing Apprenticeships Victoria received the highest industry award available to plumbing apprentices; the Andrew Letten Gold Medal, also winning the Frank Maskell General Plumbing Award earlier in the evening.

General President Mark McManus of the UA received the William P. Hite Leadership Excellence Award. Mr McManus’ commitment to the relationship between the UA and the PPTEU has seen him facilitate the exchange of knowledge and know-how between the two organisations; travel to Australia to take part in the inauguration of PICAC Narre Warren and the World Plumbing Conference and re-sign the Affiliation Agreement between the PPTEU and UA. General President McManus received the William P. Hite Leadership Excellence Award for all that he has done for our local industry from afar.

Congratulations to all of those who received an Award in 2019.

Plumbing and Fire Industry Awards 2019 Winners:

Excellence in Education and Training Award

Jake Cranny, PPTEU

Excellence in Occupational Health and Safety Award

Wayne Chequer, Allstaff Air-Conditioning

Tradelink Women in Plumbing Rose Curtis Award

Kimberley Smyth, Hey Sista Plumbing

Indigenous Professional Award

James Kinniburgh, RAW Recruitment

Excellence in Sustainability Award

Commercial Hot Water and Maintenance

NFIA Apprentice Award

Dylon Reed, Leemark Fire Protection

Excellence in Fire Protection Award

Ewan Downes, Geelong Fire Services

AHSCA Tom Clements Consultant of the Year Award

Bruce Clements, Clements Consulting Group

AHSCA Commercial Plumbing Affiliate of the Year Award

Cooke & Dowsett

AHSCA Sales Representative of the Year Award

Greg Brittain, Zip Industries

Mechanical Services Award

Victoria Tomkins, Plumbing Apprenticeships Victoria

Frank Maskell General Plumbing Award

Brandon Bresolin, Plumbing Apprenticeships Victoria

NA Smith Gas Award

Joel Anderson, Commercial Hot Water and Maintenance

Project of the Year

Joint winners:

Wilson Plumbing and Drainage for Melbourne and Olympic Park Refurbishment

Geelong Fire Services for Australia 108

Lou Maglio Apprentice of the Year Medal Award

Jack Carter, Combined Fire Systems (SA)

The Andrew Letten Gold Medal Award

Brandon Bresolin, Plumbing Apprenticeships Victoria

William P. Hite Leadership Excellence Award

Mark McManus, United Association (USA)


/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length.