Youth Council start 2019-2020 term

Mitchell Shire’s Youth Council have been sworn in for their 2019-2020 term.

The nine Youth Councillors attended a team-building camp at the weekend before taking an oath at the Ordinary Council Meeting on 15 July in front of family, friends, Council staff and senior Councillors.

The Youth Council will play a pivotal role in shaping the future direction of Mitchell Shire Council’s policies and will provide a youthful voice for senior Mitchell Shire Councillors.

Ebony Layley will serve the 2019-2020 term as Youth Mayor. Thomas Starkey will serve as Youth Deputy Mayor and Beau Milner will be Youth Council Secretary.

Youth Council will aim to:

  • Help Council understand issues and problems from the perspective of young people
  • Provide advice to Council about how concerns can be addressed
  • Develop local initiatives and programs for young people
  • Advocate on matters that affect young people

The nine members will attend fortnightly meetings as well as events and functions, leadership and development excursions and a leadership camp.

Last year’s Youth Council had been very active and was a finalist in the 7News Young Achiever Awards in the Victorian Government Group Achievement category for their advocacy work in the mental health space.

They were also instrumental in the 2019 Federal Election advocacy campaign to highlight mental health and road concerns throughout our community.

/Public Release. View in full here.