Yvonne Wrigglesworth resigns from Greater Bendigo City Council

The Greater Bendigo City Council has accepted the resignation of Yvonne Wrigglesworth, who has vacated her role as an Eppalock Ward Councillor.

Ms Wrigglesworth resigned to Mayor Cr Margaret O’Rourke and Chief Executive Officer Craig Niemann today.

Cr O’Rourke said Ms Wrigglesworth had been a champion for rural communities and made a great contribution to the strategic work of Council.

“When Council was newly formed, Yvonne played a critical role in the development of the Council Plan and its transition to a Community Plan. She was very enthusiastic and challenged us as a group to be both strategic and ambitious when setting goals for the future,” she said.

“Yvonne was also a fantastic advocate for our rural communities, particularly those in the Eppalock Ward. She was a strong voice for these residents and reminded us often of the need to look beyond the urban area.

“A key focus for Yvonne was the Heathcote community and she advocated strongly for the delivery of a new toilet block, the Chauncey Street pedestrian footbridge and the planned new dog park.

“Yvonne’s decision to resign is a disappointing outcome, however I also respect her decision.

“Yvonne was a valued member of Council who made a great contribution to our decision making processes and worked hard for the communities she represented. She should be proud of her time on Council and her achievements.”

Ms Wrigglesworth’s position in the Eppalock Ward is now vacant and the Victorian Electoral Commission is expected to conduct a countback.

The City of Greater Bendigo will work with the Victorian Electoral Commission to confirm the timing of the countback.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.