2019 Youth Award winners earn applause

Deserving young people were in the spotlight on Tuesday as the winners of the 2019 Macedon Ranges Youth Awards were announced during a special presentation at the Kyneton Town Hall.

The annual awards are planned and hosted by Council’s Youth Ambassadors—a group of dedicated young leaders who plan and host the event—aimed at recognising and celebrating the extraordinary and diverse achievements of young people aged 12 to 25 years who work, live or attend school in the Macedon Ranges Shire.

The awards are presented in the categories of: academic achievement, academic excellence, music, performing arts, visual arts, business employee, business enterprise/innovation, community participation, mental health promotion and sport group and individual.

Mayor, Cr Janet Pearce said she was very grateful to the Youth Ambassadors and thanked them for their work in hosting the 2019 Youth Awards.

“I am impressed to see the number of young people, and groups of young people, who are achieving such great things in our community across a really diverse range of activities,” Cr Pearce said.

“I would like to say thank you to all of the community members who have taken the time to submit nominations, and a big congratulations to all young people nominated.

“All of those nominated should be very proud as it is a great achievement and we are all very proud of them. I am very proud that we have the opportunity to recognise these achievements.”

The 2019 youth category winners were announced by Macedon Ranges Youth Ambassadors who co-hosted the evening.

The Academic Achievement category was won by Rosemary Howarth, who is completing a Masters in Arts and Cultural Management at the University of Melbourne while working part time and raising her son.

Winner of the Academic Excellence award was Year 12 student Andrew DeLeonardis, who is studying at university level through the University of Melbourne and received first-class honours in linear algebra—one of the most difficult undergraduate subjects.

Musician Jasper Leach, who won the Music Award category, is the 2018 Battle of the Bands song writer winner. He performs regularly at events throughout the Shire, including the Macedon Ranges Youth Festival, and is working on his own EP.

Accomplished dancer, Keely Corcoran won the Performing Arts award while prolific artist, Year 9 student Annabel Thiele, won the Visual Arts award.

Alice Knox was awarded the Business Employee award for her hard work and excellent customer service, while Adrian Black won the Business Enterprise and Innovation category for his approach to sustainability and his contributions to conservation and the environment.

The Sport (group) award was won by Victorian and Australian level champions —the Kyneton Secondary College Aerobics Squad, while Darcy Peavey took out the individual sport award for outstanding individual accomplishment and contributions to the school sports program.

In the Community Participation category, the five winners were: Laura Crozier, Miranda Johnston-Jones, Maddie Sumner, the Camp Campaspe Program organising group, and the Gisborne Secondary College Sustainability Group.

The individual and group winners were recognised for their outstanding contributions to youth voice and youth mental health in schools and the community.

Tiarna Mayman, who was nominated across two categories, was awarded the Staff Pick (individual) category winner for her perseverance through illness and ability to overcome challenges and start her own business.

The Staff Pick (group) category was awarded to KidzFlip Youth, a non-profit organisation that aims to provide resources and improve educational opportunities for young people.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.