2020 rebel Female Football Awards: All nominees

The rebel Female Football awards will be held on Friday, recognising the incredible contribution by both women and men in football at all levels of the game in Australia.

Here’s all you need to know about the awards, nominations and all the different categories up for grabs at the prestigious ceremony.

What are the rebel Female Football Awards?

The rebel Female Football Awards recognise the role of women in our great game.

As well as highlighting work done by women at both Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League clubs, it also shines a light on the unique stories and volunteers at Member Federation and grassroots level.

The rebel Female Football Awards are held annually on as part of FFA’s continued commitment to growing the women’s game at all levels.

The awards recognise and acknowledge achievements made in women’s football over the past year and bring together all facets of the women’s game from a national through to grassroots level.

MORE: rebel Female Football Week and rebel Female Football Round to be celebrated this week

FEATURE: How Melbourne City’s invincibles compare to previous unbeaten campaigns

Female Football Week banner

What awards are up for grabs?

There are a range of different awards that will be presented on the day, ranging from awards for the coaches and administration staff, to accolades for fans at a community level.

Perhaps the most prestigious gong is the rebel Role Model Award, which was won last year by Sydney FC defender Ally Green.

The nominations for 2020 are:

  • Chelsie Dawber – Adelaide United
  • Shay Evans – Sydney FC
  • Leticia McKenna – Perth Glory
  • Tessa Tamplin – Newcastle Jets
  • Ellie Carpenter – Melbourne City
  • Indiah-Paige Riley – Brisbane Roar
  • Courtney Nevin – Western Sydney Wanderers
The joy of a first Westfield W-League goal for Shadeene Evans
Sydney FC attacker Shay Evans

Female coach of the Year

In the Hyundai A-League/Westfield W-League category, the Female Coach of the Year in 2019 was taken out by former Brisbane Roar boss Mel Andreatta.

In the running this year is:

  • Alice Kriesler – Sydney FC Fan Engagement Officer and W-League Assistant Coach
  • Jessine Bonzas – Perth Glory Assistant Coach
  • Ash Wilson – Newcastle Jets Coach
  • Gabrielle Blanch – Central Coast Mariners Academy Women’s 17s Coach and Club Captain
  • Melissa Barbieri – Melbourne City Westfield W-League goalkeeper and assistant coach
  • Laura Bryant – Brisbane Roar Active Program Sporting Schools Coach
  • Catherine Cannuli – Western Sydney Wanderers Assistant Coach
Ash Wilson
Ash Wilson, Newcastle Jets

Female Administrator of the Year

The 2019 Female Administrator of the Year was Nicola Browne from Newcastle Jets, with a stack of excellent nominations for this year’s prize.

They include:

  • Sue Blaess – Volunteer, Ball Crew Coordinator (Adelaide United)
  • Sarah Floratos – Community Programs Coordinator (Sydney FC)
  • Robyn Connor – Community Manager (Wellington Phoenix)
  • Gulcan Koca – Community Football and Diversity Manager (Melbourne Victory)
  • Bronwyn Vaughan – Female Support Staff (Newcastle Jets)
  • Sue Crow – Head of Community (Melbourne City)
  • Rizka Laya – Operations & Events Coordinator (Brisbane Roar)
  • Cheyanne Girvan – Manager Canberra University and Canberra University Academy (Canberra United)
  • Mikayla Mantouroglou – Westfield W-League S&C (Intern) (Western Sydney Wanderers)

OLYMPIC GAMES QUALIFYING: van Egmond the star of Westfield Matildas’ five-goal win

MORE: Four Finals Series upsets that show anything is possible in 2019/20


Female Fan of the Year

Fans are a crucial part of football and last year’s Female Fan of the Year was Chris McAlister from Brisbane Roar.

This year’s contenders are:

  • Amelia Ayles – Adelaide United
  • Kerri Cramb – Sydney FC
  • Amanda Wetzel – Newcastle Jets
  • Sharon Pascoe – Central Coast Mariners
  • Stephanie Pasceri – Melbourne City
  • Sonya McDonald – Western United
  • Chris McAlister – Brisbane Roar
  • Ingrid Laursen – Canberra United
  • Kellie Van Gool – Western Sydney Wanderers

SYDNEY FC: Road to the Westfield W-League Semi Final

MELBOURNE VICTORY: Road to the Westfield W-League Semi Final

How to watch

Male Champion of the Year

The final category is the Male Champion of the Year, which was Melbourne Victory’s Jeff Hopkins in 2019.

The nominees for this year are:

  • Sean Sheey – Male Champion (Adelaide United)
  • Anthony Harb – Westfield W-League Assistant Coach and Player Host Family (Sydney FC)
  • Neil Bennett – Journalist for The Women’s Game (Perth Glory)
  • Craig Deans – Male Champion (Newcastle Jets)
  • Dan Barrett – Women’s NPL2 Head Coach & Head of Female Performance (Central Coast Mariners)
  • Jake Goodship – Westfield W-League Head Coach (Brisbane Roar)
  • Phil Brown – CEO of Capital Football (Canberra United)
  • Dean Heffernan – Westfield W-League Head Coach (Western Sydney Wanderers)

MELBOURNE CITY: Road to the Westfield W-League Semi Final

WESTERN SYDNEY WANDERS: Road to the Westfield W-League Semi Final

Jake Goodship
Brisbane Roar boss Jake Goodship

Create a Football Account Thin Banner

In the Member Federation Category there are a number of prestigious awards which highlight the outstanding work of so many people at all levels of the game.

Female Player of the Year

Last year’s Female Player of the Year was Joey Powell from the Football Northern NNSW federation.

This year’s contenders include:

  • Sarah Denton (Football SA)
  • Isabella Nimmo (Football NSW)
  • Jo-anne Rowland (Football Tasmania)
  • Hannah Lowry (Football West)
  • Karen Costello (Football Victoria)
  • Emma IIijoski (Capital Football)

Female Coach of the Year

The Female Coach of the Year – won by Louise McColl from Football Victoria in 2019 – is another hot category this year.

The nominees for 2020 include:

  • Mary Mavra (Football SA)
  • Corinna Ryan (Football Queensland)
  • Isabella Nimmo (Football NSW)
  • Lusitana Casimiro (Football NT)
  • Karen Wills (Football Tasmania)
  • Kelly Stirton (Capital Football)
  • Anouk Meereboer (Football Victoria)
  • Faye Chambers (Football West)
  • Rachel Bax (Football NNSW)

My Football Live banner

Female Administrator of the Year

In the Female Administrator section, Bethwyn Watt from Football West was a worthy winner last year.

This year’s nominees include:

  • Kerry Hudson (Football SA)
  • Sarah Dixon (Football Queensland)
  • Denise Robinson (Football NSW)
  • Cathy James (Football Tasmania)
  • Kath Temple (Capital Football)
  • Julie Martin (Football NT)
  • Jasmine Hirst (Football Victoria)
  • Stephanie Swanson Garner (Football West)
  • Laura Ranger (Football NNSW)

Female Referee of the Year

After Football NSW’s Chloe Gray took out the Female Referee of the Year in 2018, there’s another seven worthy nominees for this year’s gong.

Among the nominees are:

  • Jackie Megson (Football SA)
  • Ashleigh McNamara (Football Queensland)
  • Lottie Cabassi-Power (Football NSW)
  • Aisha Strutt (Capital Football)
  • Wendy Ollington (Football Tasmania)
  • Tanya Jones (Football NNSW)
  • Jaimee Barreiro (Football Victoria)
The Westfield FFA Cup is proving a winner in unveiling a host of quality female referees.

Male Champion of the Year

Football West’s Shane Cole was last year’s Male Champion of the Year, with eight contenders for the award in 2020.

They are:

  • Bruno Geovanniello (Football SA)
  • David Bounds (Football Queensland)
  • Antoni Jagarinec (Capital Football)
  • Simon Edwards (Football Tasmania)
  • Dave McWilliam (Football NT)
  • Michael Mammis (Football Victoria)
  • Andy Longmore (Football West)
  • Stewart Hume (Football NNSW)

Female Football Week banner

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.