Acting Judges reappointed to Supreme Court

Elise Archer,Attorney-General and Minister for Justice

Three Acting Judges have been reappointed to the Supreme Court for a further two years as part of the State Government’s plan to provide access to justice and reduce court backlogs.

Justice David Porter, Justice Shane Marshall and Justice Brian Martin AO were initially appointed as Acting Judges in 2017.

Justice Porter is a former full-time judge of the Supreme Court who was in office between May 2008 and May 2016.

Justice Marshall was a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia and the Industrial Relations Court of Australia until November 2015.

Justice Martin AO is a former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the No

rthern Territory and has been an Acting Judge in the Supreme Courts of Western Australia and the Australian Capital Territory.

The reappointments complement the reforms to administrative and procedural matters delivered by the passage of both the Magistrates Court reforms and the Justice Miscellaneous (Court Backlog and Related Matters) Bill 2020 which will together deliver a more efficient and effective justice system.

The Government has also committed to funding the appointment of a seventh judge to the Supreme Court this year, with expressions of interest in that position to be publicly called for shortly.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.