Additional disaster assistance for flood-affected Queenslanders

Disaster assistance has now been extended to Diamantina Shire Council and additional assistance has been made available in parts of Winton Shire Council as the record-breaking monsoonal floods continue to affect central western Queensland.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds and Queensland Fire and Emergency Services Minister Craig Crawford said the Commonwealth and Queensland governments were committed to providing support as the devastating impact of this disaster continues to expand.

“This is a disaster of extraordinary proportions, with impacts across 30 local government areas in northern, central and western Queensland,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

“Through the DRFA, Diamantina Shire Council can now access funding to help cover the cost of clean-up and repairs associated with the floods.

“In addition, personal hardship assistance payments and essential services reconnection grants are now available to areas outside the township of Winton to assist those living remotely.

“Our message to all affected is that we will stand with you every step of the way to recover and rebuild.”

Minister Crawford said people in the bush were no strangers to hardship.

“This record flood, hot on the heels of crippling drought, has seen many in the west doing it tougher than ever before,” he said.

“Affected residents living in remote areas of Winton Shire can now access payments of up to $180 per person, or up to $900 for a family of five or more, to help cover items such as food, medication and clothing.

“This assistance will go some way to getting our disaster-weary remote communities through this deluge.

“Queensland Government agencies continue to monitor the ongoing situation and are working closely with the Commonwealth to provide assistance to additional communities as information comes to hand.”

A range of DRFA assistance is now available in 30 local government areas in northern and western Queensland: Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Richmond, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.