Appointments to Board of Internatinal Fund for Ireland


Earlier today, the United Kingdom and Irish Governments announced new appointments to the Board of the International Fund for Ireland. The appointments are:

  • Mr Paddy Harte, Chairman
  • Ms Avila Kilmurray
  • Mr Richard O’Rawe
  • Ms Hilary Singleton
  • Ms Bernie Butler
  • Mr Allen McAdam
  • Ms Sadie Ward-McDermott

In announcing these appointments, the two governments expressed their very warm appreciation for the services given by the outgoing Board Members whose term of office had ended. Particular thanks is due to Dr Adrian Johnston who has shown exceptional leadership of the Board through his service as Chairman for the last seven years.

Tribute was also paid to Ms Siobhan Fitzpatrick, Mr Billy Gamble and Ms Dorothy Clarke for their commitment to the work of the International Fund for Ireland throughout their tenure.


The International Fund for Ireland is an international organisation established by the British and Irish Governments in 1986 with the objectives of promoting economic and social advance and of encouraging contact, dialogue and reconciliation between Unionists and Nationalists throughout Ireland. Contributors to the Fund are the United States of America, the European Union, Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

Mr Harte, Ms Hilary Singleton and Mr Allen McAdam, who were Members of the previous Board have been re-appointed for a further term, Mr Harte in the position of Chairman. The retiring Members of the previous Board are Dr Adrian Johnston (Chairman), Ms Siobhan Fitzpatrick, Mr Billy Gamble and Ms Dorothy Clarke.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.