Appointments to tax practitioners board

The Morrison Government has appointed Mr Peter de Cure, Ms Judy Sullivan and Mr Craig Stephens as part-time members of the Tax Practitioners Board for a three-year period.

The Tax Practitioners Board is the national body responsible for the registration and regulation of tax practitioners, ensuring compliance with the Tax Agent Services Act 2009 and the Code of Professional Conduct.

Mr de Cure was first appointed to the Board in 2017. He is a professional non-executive director, with experience in tax matters developed over a 25-year career as a tax partner at KPMG, and as a registered tax agent for 16 years. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Ms Sullivan has a wealth of experience in taxation, including most recently as PwC’s National Leader for charities and not-for-profits practice, and for Tax Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution. She currently a sits on a number of the Law Council of Australia’s committees, the ATO not-for-profit Stewardship Group and the Advisory Committee for the Board of Taxation.

Mr Stephens has extensive tax experience, including most recently as the Managing Partner of BDO in Hobart. He is a Registered Tax Agent and has been working in a business services and taxation role for over 40 years.

These appointments will ensure a high level of skill and experience is available to the Board. The Morrison Government congratulates Mr de Cure, Ms Sullivan and Mr Stephens on their appointments.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.