A.R. Bluett ‘Top Brass’ Deliver Winners Plaque: Bellingen

Bellingen Shire Council was delighted to welcome the three A. R. Bluett Trustees, Les McMahon, Trust Chairman, Genia McCaffrey and Paul Braybrooks OAM to the Shire recently to officially receive one of the greatest accolades a New South Wales Council can achieve having won the Rural Category of the 2020 Local Government NSW A. R. Bluett Memorial Awards.

Bellingen Shire Council Mayor, Cr Dominic King, said the A. R. Bluett Memorial Awards celebrate examples of exceptional achievement by progressive regional and metropolitan councils that encourage and foster innovation and continuous improvement.

“These awards are recognised as the pinnacle of local government achievement and it was wonderful to host the A.R. Bluett Trustees in our Shire once again to be presented with the official winners brass plaque which acknowledges Council’s work with our community to discover our Shire’s true potential.”

Cr King said Bellingen Shire Council’s awards submission detailed council and the community’s continued efforts and progress towards addressing the opportunities and challenges identified in the Shire’s Community Vision.

“Council as the custodian of our Community Vision has worked together with our community to create a shared vision on how to sustainably manage growth in our Shire, maintain its natural beauty and uniqueness and remain an inclusive and connected community.”

“In doing so we have had to be innovative, brave and resourceful to balance the needs of the organisation with community aspirations and I think it’s satisfying to see what can be achieved when we all work together,” Cr King said.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.