Australian Government assistance for Sydney residents

The Australian Government Chief Medical Officer has declared parts of Sydney a COVID-19 hotspot for the purposes of Commonwealth support from 23 June for an initial 7 days, and has now extended the hot spot to 2 July 2021.

This includes the Sydney Local Government Areas (LGAs) of:

  • City of Sydney
  • Waverley
  • Randwick
  • Canada Bay
  • Inner West
  • Bayside
  • Woollahra

The COVID-19 Disaster Payment will become available on 1 July 2021 for eligible people. This payment is for people who reside or work in a Commonwealth declared hotspot and can’t attend work as a result of state imposed health restrictions lasting greater than a week.

Eligible people will receive $500 if they’ve lost 20 hours or more of work, and $325 if they’ve lost less than 20 hours of work. They must not have liquid assets of more than $10,000 or be in receipt of other payments. Further information will be made available when this payment comes into effect. There is no need to contact Services Australia at this time.

Services Australia has swiftly provided services and support at every stage of the pandemic. Other payments that may be available to eligible people include Pandemic Leave Disaster Payment and JobSeeker Payment.

For more information and to check your eligibility for payments, visit

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.