Australian National Maritime Museum appointments

The Australian Government has appointed Dr Ian Watt AC and Mr John Longley AM, and reappointed Justice Sarah Derrington and Mr John Mullen, as part-time members of the Australian National Maritime Museum Council for three year terms.

Mr John Mullen has also been appointed as the next Chair of the Council. His term as Chair will commence on 17 August 2019, following the conclusion of the term of the current Chair, Mr Peter Dexter AM. The Government acknowledges the exceptional service Mr Dexter has provided over the past nine years as Council Chair.

Mr Mullen is currently a member of the Council, and has served as Chair of the Australian National Maritime Museum Foundation since 2015.

Mr Mullen is the Chair of Telstra Corporation and Executive Chair of the Toll Group. He has 30 years’ experience as aChief Executive Officer in Australia and internationally. He is also Co-Founder of the Silentworld Foundation, which supports maritime archaeology in Australia, with a focus on pre-colonial and early colonial history.

Since his appointment to Chair of the Australian National Maritime Museum Foundation, Mr Mullen has made a significant contribution to the Council. His considerable expertise in philanthropy, maritime archaeology, leadership and management will continue to be invaluable for the Council.

Justice Derrington is a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia and President of the Australian Law Reform Commission. She also is a member of the Australian Maritime College Board. She was previously the President of the Maritime Law Association of Australia and New Zealand and Vice Chair of the Australian Maritime and Transport Arbitration Commission.

Justice Derrington also has 25 years’ experience lecturing on maritime, contract and commercial law in Australian and international universities.

Since her appointment in 2015, Justice Derrington has made a significant contribution to the Council. Her expert knowledge of maritime and legal matters will continue to be an invaluable resource for the Council.

Dr Watt serves as a Director on a range of Boards, including Citibank Pty Ltd and Smartgroup Corporation, and is the recently retired non-Executive Chair of BAE Systems Australia. Dr Watt is a former Secretary of the Departments of Prime Minister and Cabinet, Defence, Finance and Administration and Communications, Information Technology and the Arts.

Dr Watt holds a PhD and a Master of Economics from La Trobe University, and brings extensive experience in public administration and governance.

Mr Longley has extensive experience in sailing, including ocean racing in Australia, Europe and the United States of America. He was General Manager of the HM Bark Endeavour Foundation which was responsible for the completion of the build of the HMB Endeavour replica. Mr Longley has also been involved with the America’s Cup yacht race as a crew member from 1974 to 1987 and was a crew member of Australia II during its historic win in 1984. Mr Longley will bring considerable experience in sailing, tourism and commerce to the Council.

For more information about the Australian National Maritime Museum visit:

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.