Biosecurity Advisory Committee announced

Guy Barnett,Minister for Primary Industries and Water

Tasmania’s reputation as a premium producer of agricultural and seafood products, and as a leading tourism destination, is reliant on a rigorous and effective biosecurity system.

Recognising that good biosecurity relies on the community, industry and Government working together, I am pleased to announce the formation of Tasmania’s first Biosecurity Advisory Committee, following a public expression of interest process.

This independent advisory body will provide advice to the Minister on biosecurity in Tasmania and help guide Government strategies and policy for biosecurity matters.

The Committee is chaired by Felicity Richards who is a rural leader, business woman, farmer and primary industries advocate. Joining her on the Committee are nine, well credentialed industry leaders and experts across animal and plant agriculture, fisheries, science, environment, tourism and other representatives, as required by the Biosecurity Act 2019. The members are:

  • Julian Harrington;
  • Davina Gregory-Dunsmuir;
  • Rod Andrewartha;
  • Peter Skillern;
  • Nic Hansen;
  • Rosanna Coombes;
  • Annabel von Bibra;
  • Penny Wells; and
  • Michael Bailey.

The formation of this Committee is an important milestone in supporting community and industry engagement and one of the key initial tasks required for the effective implementation of Tasmania’s new Biosecurity Act 2019.

The landmark Biosecurity Act 2019 represents one of the most significant reforms of Tasmania’s primary industry and environmental laws in decades, and replaces seven separate and out-dated Acts into a single, modern, fit-for-purpose piece of legislation.

/Public Release. View in full here.