Candidates announced for by-election

A total of five candidates have nominated in the Strathbogie Shire Council, Honeysuckle Creek Ward by-election.

The candidates, in ballot paper order, are:



ALLEN, Julie

MAHER, Maree


Candidate statements and responses to a questionnaire about their background and qualifications will be available online at this week.

The by-election will be conducted entirely by post. Voters who were correctly enrolled for Honeysuckle Creek Ward by 4.00 pm on Friday 24 January will receive a ballot pack, which they must complete and return as soon as possible using the reply-paid envelope. Ballot packs will be mailed from Tuesday 3 March.

Voters can also hand-deliver ballot packs to the election office, at the Old Emergency Control Centre, 1A Bury Street, Euroa between 9am and 5pm on weekdays from Monday 16 March until Friday 20 March, with extended hours on Thursday 19 March (9am to 8pm) and Friday 20 March (9am to 6pm).

Voting closes at 6pm on Friday 20 March 2020. Returning Officer Christine Chadwick advised voters to vote well ahead of the closing time.

‘You need to post or hand-deliver your completed ballot papers by the deadline to make your vote count,’ said Ms Chadwick.

‘Local mail clearance times may be earlier than the close of voting, so don’t leave it to the last minute.’

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.