Chairperson of Construction Training Fund steps down

  • Ian Hill steps down as chairperson of the Construction Training Fund
  • Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery acknowledges Mr Hill’s outstanding contributions 
  • Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery today announced she had accepted the resignation of Ian Hill as chairperson of the Construction Training Fund (CTF).

    Mr Hill, who has served as Board chairperson since July 2003, will leave the position on January 31, 2020.

    He has a career spanning more than 30 years in the State public sector. During this time, Mr Hill was employed as Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Corrective Services and Director General of the Western Australian Department of Training and Employment. 

    Earlier this year, the McGowan Government removed the resource industry’s long-standing exemption from contributing to the Building and Construction Industry Training Fund to support training and skills development for the State’s construction workforce. The CTF implemented this change under Mr Hill’s leadership.

    Mr Hill will remain chairperson of the Training Accreditation Council.

    As stated by Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:          

    “I would like to thank Mr Hill for his outstanding contribution to the State Government and to the building and construction industry in helping to meet its demands for skilled workers.

    “Mr Hill has worked closely with stakeholders in the building and construction industry, Department of Training and Workforce Development, State Training Board, registered training providers, local government agencies and secondary schools.

    “He has served the industry with commitment and dedication.”

    /Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.