Community champions celebrated: Latrobe City Council

Local legends, outstanding events and champion community services have been acknowledged at the 2022 Latrobe City Australia Day Awards ceremony, held on Sunday 27 March following COVID-19 related delays.

Glengarry Community Association President Dean Sutton was named citizen of the year for his commitment to innovative community service and event delivery throughout the pandemic.

As a founding member of the Glengarry Events Group, Mr Sutton facilitates a range of community activities including markets, Christmas celebrations, ANZAC Day and Remembrance Day services and more.

Mr Sutton is also a founding organiser of the Gippsland Pride Cup and is working to take the LGBQTI+ positive concept nationally and across other sports.

Long-serving Moe and District Historical Society president Martin Dyt received the senior citizen of the year award for his strong leadership of the group and his valuable work as Treasurer of the Moe Bowls Club.

The young citizen of the year award went to Bridie Bryne, an exceptional student, girl guide and volunteer.

Ms Bryne pipped thousands of Victorian students to win the prestigious Kwong Lee Dow Young Scholars Award Scholarship from the University of Melbourne.

She is a shining role model for local youth as a senior Girl Guide and has helped raise funds for the local CFA, Cancer Council, Ronald McDonald House and Wear it Purple Day for LGBTQIA+ awareness.

The 65th Latrobe Valley Eisteddfod took the award for event of the year as one of the few performing arts festivals able to take place across Australia in 2021.

The Eisteddfod offered artists and performers the opportunity to display their talents via a combination of online events and a limited live event held under COVID Safe protocols.

Rotary Club of Traralgon Central delivered the community service of the year with their ‘Give a Damn, Give a Can’ campaign, collecting canned foods in collaboration with St Vincent De Paul Food Bank.

This year, the club collected a record number of 15,000 plus cans, adding to an estimated total of 230,000 cans of food collected for distribution to needy families throughout the project’s lifespan.

Latrobe City Mayor Kellie O’Callaghan congratulated all nominees and winners.

“It’s fantastic to recognise the important work you have all put in across our community to help make Latrobe City a special place to live,” Cr O’Callaghan said.

Award Recipients

  • Citizen of the Year: Dean Sutton
  • Young Citizen of the Year: Bridie Byrne
  • Senior Citizen of the Year: Martin Dyt
  • Community Service of the Year: Give a Damn – Give a Can project, Traralgon Central Rotary Club
  • Community Event of the Year: The 65th Latrobe Valley Eisteddfod – Performing Arts Festival

Recognition Awards

  • Patricia Cox
  • Matt and Merrin Dennis
  • Neil Fitzclarence
  • Fiona Lock
  • Lynne O’Callaghan
  • Latrobe Valley Badminton Association Annual Veteran’s Tournament
  • Show Me Some Art Festival
  • My Valley, My Home Virtual Choir
  • Young Citizen – Dylan Day
  • Senior Citizen of the Year – Geoff Peterson
  • Adult Citizen – Trent McCurdy

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.