Congratulating our SA & NT General Practitioner award winners

Royal Australian College of GPs

The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) has congratulated the winners of the annual RACGP South Australia and Northern Territory faculty awards.

This year’s winners:

· GP of the Year is Dr Bronwyn Carson of the Cavenagh Medical Centre in Darwin

· GP in Training of the Year is Dr Anna Kearney of Kadina who trained at the Investigator Clinic in Port Lincoln

· General Practice of the Year is the Victor Medical Centre in Victor Harbor

· GP Supervisor of the Year is Dr Ronan Mackle of Mount Gambier.

RACGP Acting President Associate Professor Ayman Shenouda today congratulated the award winners.

“This year’s award winners highlight why general practice is so important for communities across South Australia and the Northern Territory,” Associate Professor Shenouda said.

“Dr Carson thrives on the challenges and rewards of working as a GP in the Northern Territory and also helping to train the next generation of GPs.

“Born in Yirrkala in East Arnhem, she loves the Territory because she believes it is a vibrant and interesting place to live. Her work has certainly not gone unnoticed in Darwin and she is a very worthy winner of this prestigious prize.

“Then you have Dr Kearney, an inspiring young GP who is committed to rural medical practice and providing high quality care that is accessible to all people.

“The GPEx trainee is a fantastic role model, especially for the female rural medical students. Dr Kearney is determined to ‘pay it forward’ by teaching the next generation of doctors.

“The Victor Medical Centre features GPs with a broad range of skills including anaesthetics, skin, obstetrics and mental health – something that is so important to a rural community where access to specialists can be limited.

“Last but not least, Dr Mackle is a highly respected GP in the local community. His philosophy is to be an effective communicator with a strong emphasis on patient safety. His practice prides itself in undergraduate and postgraduate medical education.

“It is no surprise that this clinic, the Hawkins medical clinic in Mount Gambier, received the 2019 RACGP South Australia and Northern Territory General Practice of the Year award and the 2019 RACGP General Practice of the Year award.

“To all the award winners – congratulations and all the best in your future endeavours in the years ahead.”

The RACGP Awards recognise the value of GPs in our community, celebrating the achievements of exceptional individuals who go above and beyond to care for their patients.


/Public Release.