Connect and celebrate with return of in-room AACTA industry awards ceremony

As Australia’s only screen celebration encompassing Film, Television, and Digital, AACTA are pleased to announce the return of two award ceremonies with the 2022 AACTA Industry Awards on Monday December 5 and the 2022 AACTA Awards Ceremony on Wednesday December 7. Both ceremonies will be presented by Foxtel Group and will be held at The Hordern, in Sydney’s iconic Entertainment Quarter, home of Fox Studios.

After two years of online presentations, the Australian screen industry is invited to the most anticipated day of the year as the AACTA Industry Awards return to an in-room event. This year’s ceremonies will celebrate and honour the creatives behind the best films, TV, and digital entertainment from the past year, acknowledging the achievements of Australia’s best productions and brightest screen practitioners.

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts are pleased to announce the appointment of Roving Enterprises and Executive Producer Craig Campbell as the Broadcast Producer for this year’s AACTA Awards Ceremony on Wednesday December 7. Craig will bring a wealth of knowledge, experience, and creativity to the 2022 telecast. Wednesday’s ceremony will be broadcast on 10, at 7.30pm, and will be encored on Fox Docos, Saturday, December 10 at 7:30pm. The broadcast will also be available to stream on demand via Foxtel, Binge and AACTA TV.

Rove McManus said “Roving Enterprises is honoured and excited to be partnering with AACTA to produce this year’s awards. The AACTAs are such an esteemed ceremony, and we look forward to celebrating not only the on-screen performers but also the many other talented industry people who produce some of the best content in the world.”

The 2022 AACTA Industry Awards Ceremony tickets go on sale today and for the first time since 2019, industry will have the opportunity to purchase a table for their talent, crew, or team. For a full breakdown of the awards presented during each ceremony, see below. To purchase tickets, click here.

This year’s awards will celebrate some of the biggest TV shows and films in Australia. Documentary and Short Film nominees were announced earlier this year with Digital, Film, and Television nominees being announced on October 20 and October 23, 2022, ahead of Round 2 voting commencing Monday October 24, 2022.

AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said, “AACTA are honoured to bring together Australia’s world-class performers, creators and practitioners across two major events in Sydney. The AACTA Ceremonies provide an unparalleled opportunity to celebrate the calibre, scale and craft of Australian Film, TV, Documentary, and Digital creation. We are excited to have Roving Enterprises involved in this year’s event and look forward to a fantastic show.”

Brian Walsh, Executive Director of Drama & Senior Content Consultant for the Foxtel Group said: “Australian television and film crews are among the best in the world and after years of disruption it is incredibly exciting to be bringing the industry back together – all in one place – to celebrate the impactful and important work being done here in Australia. These craft awards are a fitting tribute to the many artists, all with diverse skills, whose contribution to our industry is boundless.”

Daniel Monaghan, Senior Vice President, Content and Programming at Paramount Australia and New Zealand said, “It’s an honour to be a broadcast partner for the AACTA Awards. And we’re proud to play a pivotal role in showcasing the achievements of our industry to Australian audiences on 10.

“We’re thrilled to share screen industry success stories with the wider community and cement our industry’s place as a major contributor to the economic, social and cultural fabric of our country.”

NSW Minister for Tourism and the Arts Ben Franklin said the AACTA Awards underscores the importance of screen production to the NSW visitor economy.

“Sydney and NSW is home to some of the country’s brightest screen talent and filming locations, so we are delighted to once again be rolling out the red carpet in Sydney for this year’s AACTA Awards.”

“It is fantastic to see the tremendous achievements of those working in front and behind the scenes of our world-class film and television productions honoured for their dedication and innovation to their craft. I look forward to a wonderful night at this year’s AACTA Awards celebrating the ongoing success of our screen industry, which plays a vital role in the NSW visitor economy.”

For supporting materials including an interview with NSW Minister Franklin, imagery and the full AACTA Award ceremony split, click here.

For industry ticket sales and information, click here.

The list of awards being presented at the 2022 AACTA Industry Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel Group – Monday December 5:

  • Best Casting presented by Casting Networks
  • Best Children’s Program
  • Best Cinematography in a Documentary
  • Best Cinematography in Film
  • Best Cinematography in Television
  • Best Costume Design in Film
  • Best Costume Design in Television
  • Best Digital Series or Channel
  • Best Direction in Drama or Comedy
  • Best Direction in Nonfiction Television
  • Best Documentary
  • Best Documentary or Factual Program
  • Best Editing in a Documentary
  • Best Editing in Film presented by Spectrum Films
  • Best Editing in Television
  • Best Hair and Makeup presented by HASK
  • Best Indie Film
  • Best Lifestyle Program
  • Best Original Score in a Documentary
  • Best Original Score in Film
  • Best Original Score in Television
  • Best Production Design in Film
  • Best Production Design in Television
  • Best Screenplay in Film
  • Best Short Film
  • Best Short Video
  • Best Sound in a Documentary
  • Best Sound in Film
  • Best Sound in Television
  • Best Stand-Up Special
  • Best Visual Effects or Animation

The list of awards being presented at the 2022 AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel Group – Wednesday December 7

  • Audience Choice Award for Best Actor
  • Audience Choice Award for Best Actress
  • Audience Choice Award for Best Digital Creator
  • Audience Choice Award for Best Film
  • Audience Choice Award for Best Sports Commentary Team
  • Audience Choice Award for Best Sports Program
  • Audience Choice Award for Best TV Personality
  • Audience Choice Award for Best TV Series
  • Best Comedy Performer
  • Best Comedy Program
  • Best Direction in Film presented by Filmology
  • Best Drama Series
  • Best Entertainment Program
  • Best Factual Entertainment Program
  • Best Film
  • Best Lead Actor in a Drama presented by Foxtel
  • Best Lead Actor in Film
  • Best Lead Actress in a Drama presented by Foxtel
  • Best Lead Actress in Film
  • Best Miniseries
  • Best Reality Program
  • Best Screenplay in Television
  • Best Supporting Actor in a Drama
  • Best Supporting Actor in Film
  • Best Supporting Actress in a Drama
  • Best Supporting Actress in Film
  • Longford Lyell Award
  • Trailblazer Award

* Awards are not listed in running order.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.