Council of Australian War Memorial re-appointments

THE preservation and commemoration of Australia’s military history will benefit from continued stability following the re-appointment of three members of the Council of the Australian War Memorial today.

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Darren Chester said Major General Greg Melick AO RFD FANZCN SC (Ret’d), Colonel Susan Neuhaus AM CSC (Ret’d), and Ms Josephine Stone AM had each been re-appointed for three years.

“It is important that we have experienced and dedicated people on the Council as the Memorial embarks on its first major upgrade to tell the continuing story of our military history, and that is exactly what the re-appointments today provide,” Mr Chester said.

“Collectively they bring a wealth of knowledge, skills and experience to the Council and I thank them for their contribution to-date and congratulate them on their re-appointments.”

The Australian War Memorial Council is responsible for the conduct and control of the affairs of the Memorial, and the policy of the Memorial with respect to any matters is determined by the Council.

Mr Chester said the work of the Council was crucial in raising national awareness of the service and sacrifice of our current and former serving Australian Defence Force members and their families.

“I thank all Council members for their dedication and hard work in preserving and sharing our military history.”

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.