Cr Mendy Urie elected East Gippsland Shire Council Mayor

A woman and two men standing in front of Australia's flags.

Cr Mendy Urie of Eagle Point was elected Mayor and Cr Mark Reeves was elected Deputy Mayor for 2020-21 at a Statutory Council Meeting on Tuesday 17 November.

Cr Urie has previously served two terms on Council, from 2005-2008 and 2008-2012. During that time, Cr Urie served as Mayor for three consecutive years.

Before the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, the meeting saw the swearing in of members of the eighth East Gippsland Shire Council.

Cr Urie said she hoped her term as Mayor will see a positive change in Council culture.

“I deeply appreciate the trust the Councillor group has put in me to lead Council for the next 12 months. I hope and expect we can work with inclusion and kindness in all our work and relationships,” Cr Urie said.

“I will give the role the energy, dedication and time it requires. The first year of a new Council is crucial, and not just because that’s when the Council’s major plans are put in place, but it is also when our relationships are created,” Cr Urie said.

“The culture we build needs to allow us to make good decisions; where we are safe to express divergent views, and different views are seen as good for effective decision making,” Cr Urie said.

First elected in 2012, Cr Mark Reeves of Marlo is now in his third consecutive term on Council. He previously served as Mayor in 2013-14 and as Deputy Mayor in 2017-18.

Cr Reeves said he will support the Mayor in those situations where symbolic leadership is required.

“I will be able to connect with the whole community and advocate for the most vulnerable in the community. I believe I can support Mayor Urie in developing the collective capacity of everyone in this chamber and everyone in our community.”

The next Ordinary Council Meeting will be held on Tuesday 1 December at 6pm. All meetings are live streamed on Council’s website.

Mayor Urie.JPG

From left, East Gippsland Shire Council CEO Anthony Basford congratulates Mayor Cr Mendy Urie and Deputy Mayor Cr Mark Reeves.

Group of men and women standing around a desk.

The new East Gippsland Shire Council was sworn in at a Statutory Council Meeting on Tuesday 17 November.

Pictured are back: Cr Sonia Buckley, Cr Tom Crook, Cr Dr Jane Greacen, Cr Arthur Allen, Cr Kirsten Van Diggele, Cr John White.

Front: Cr Trevor Stow, Mayor Cr Mendy Urie, Dand eputy Mayor Cr Mark Reeves.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.