CSU Kajulu team in 2018 IAA finals

A Charles Sturt University (CSU) student team has again been selected as a finalist in the annual International Advertising Association (IAA) national student marketing communications competition.

The IAA (Australian Chapter) announced CSU’s Kajulu Red is one of the top scoring submissions for the 2018 ‘Big Idea’ competition which challenges students from Australian university marketing communications courses to devise an ‘industry-standard’ campaign for an annually selected real-world client.

CSU Kajulu advertising teams have made the IAA finals every year for more than a decade, and have claimed 12 IAA National Champion’s titles, most of them consecutively.

Senior lecturer in advertising at the School of Communication and Creative Industries in Bathurst Ms Anne Llewellynn said the CSU Kajulu Red team did an outstanding job.

“I’m so proud of our students for their hard work and outside-the-box thinking,” Ms Llewellynn said.

“Every year the competition reaches new heights and our students rise to the challenge.”

“This year the client was Nestlé, Uncle Tobys Plus (breakfast cereal), in the Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG) category, which is a very challenging brief compared to other years. The breakfast cereal market is very competitive, so the client really needs a Big Idea!”

Acting Head of the CSU School of Communication and Creative Industries Dr Sharon Schoenmaker said, “I congratulate the students in the Kajulu Red team for reaching the finals.

“Charles Sturt University’s success lies in developing our students as emerging practitioners and the annual IAA competition is an important part of that process and engagement with their profession. I wish them success in the finals.”

The CSU Kajulu Red team comprises students studying the Bachelor of Communication (Advertising)/ Bachelor of Business (Marketing), Bachelor of Communication (Advertising and Public Relations) and Bachelor of Communication (Advertising).

The 2018 Kajulu Red team is Ms Caitlin Ferguson-Evans, Ms Courtney French, Ms Amelia Gill, Ms Simone Lagudi, Ms Bonnie Osborn, and Ms Joanne Yabsley. Ms Kyla Turner (Bachelor of Communication) also contributed to the team’s submission with production of some video elements.

The IAA ‘Big Idea’ 2018 Jury comprised:

* Ms Gayle While, Deputy CEO, Clemenger BBDO (Chair of Jury)

* Ms Michelle Katz, Head of Media & Brand Experience, Nestlé

* Ms Megan Howard, Head of Campaign Marketing, APAC, Adobe

* Ms Victoria Seymour, Sales Director, Mumbrella

* Ms Danielle McWilliam, Marketing Manager, Think TV

* Mr Ian Perrin, Chief Accelerator, Speed

The IAA finals will be judged in Sydney on Friday 9 November.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s). View in full here.