Cyber Security NSW

A new office, Cyber Security NSW, has been established within the Department of Customer Service to cement the leadership and coordination role needed to enhance cyber security and decision-making across the NSW Government.

The State’s Government Chief Information and Digital Officer Greg Wells said Cyber Security NSW will play a critical role in achieving the vision of the new Customer Service Cluster – using digital transformation to build confidence and trust among citizens, thereby increasing customer satisfaction and engagement.

“Cyber Security NSW will be led by Tony Chapman, Chief Cyber Security Officer, and he will perform the functions previously undertaken by the NSW Government Chief Information Security Officer. The role will have a renewed focus on digital transformation and improving customer service outcomes,” Mr Wells said.

“A key component of the role will be driving a culture of risk management and awareness to support greater resilience to cyber security threats. Tony and his team will build on the digital transformation work occurring across the NSW Government, ensuring our digital spaces are safeguarded against cyber threats.

“Cyber Security NSW will continue its critical work enhancing whole-of-government cyber security capabilities and standards on behalf of NSW. It will also work more closely with the Information and Privacy Commission on security, privacy and the availability of systems and services during the State’s digital transformation.”

Mr Chapman said Cyber Security NSW will strengthen ties across other NSW Government departments, other states and territories, and the federal government, identifying and harnessing best practice in cyber security.

Mr Chapman has extensive experience in cyber security, government relations and stakeholder engagement, working for state and federal agencies including the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission and most recently the NSW Government Department of Finance, Services and Innovation. He is a member of the National Cyber Security Committee, the States and Territories Cyber Security Roundtable, and the NSW Cyber Security Advisory Council.

/Public Release. View in full here.