Disaster assistance extended to remote Queensland communities

Disaster assistance has been extended to the remote communities of Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council and Torres Strait Island Regional Council as the extent of damage caused by the 2019 Queensland Floods continues to be realised.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds and Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford said remote communities in Far North Queensland had not been spared in the wide-ranging floods.

“This monsoon trough has caused devastation from the tip of Cape York to the state’s far south west, but wherever it has struck all levels of government have been working together to ensure Queenslanders receive the assistance they need,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

“Through the DRFA, Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council and Torres Strait Island Regional Council can now access assistance to help alleviate operational costs and assist with the cost of clean-up and repairs.

“In addition, remote communities in the Torres Strait Island Regional Council area will be able to access emergency hardship assistance payments of up to $180 for individuals and up to $900 for a family of five or more for food, clothing, emergency accommodation or medical supplies.”

Minister Crawford said that as the floodwaters went down, the true cost was only now being realised.

“The impact of the floods is wide-reaching and it’s essential we provide support and assistance to our remote communities as they deal with their recovery and clean-up from the floods,” Minister Crawford said.

“The addition of Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council and Torres Strait Island Regional Council brings the number of councils activated for assistance to 34.

“Thankfully the waters have gone down in Pormpuraaw and Torres Strait Island and this assistance will ensure that those councils receive the helping hand they need to recover.”

A range of DRFA assistance is now available in 34 local government areas in northern and western Queensland: Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Cairns, Carpentaria, Cassowary Coast, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Douglas, Etheridge, Flinders, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mareeba, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Richmond, Torres Strait Island, Townsville, Whitsunday, Winton, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.