Expanded Disaster Aid Eligibility for Queenslanders Post-SEQ Storms

Minister for Fire and Disaster Recovery and Minister for Corrective Services The Honourable Nikki Boyd

Personal hardship payments are now available for more eligible residents in the Logan City Council and Scenic Rim Regional Council areas in response to the severe storms in South-East Queensland on Christmas night.

This includes grants of $180 for individuals and up to $900 for a family of five or more to cover the costs of essentials like food, clothing and medicine.

A range of other support measures are also available to eligible individuals to help make their home safe to live in, replace household contents, and reconnect essential services like electricity, water and sewerage.

These grants are made available through Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA). Additional localities include:

  • Logan City Council – Bahrs Scrub, Eagleby, Edens Landing, Holmview, Logan Village, South Maclean, Stockleigh, Wolffdene, Woodridge.
  • Scenic Rim Regional Council – Allenview, Barney View, Beechmont, Benobble, Biddaddaba, Binna Burra, Birnam, Boyland, Bromelton, Cainbable, Chinghee Creek, Christmas Creek, Cryna, Darlington, Ferny Glen, Flying Fox, Gleneagle, Hillview, Illinbah, Innisplain, Josephville, Kagaru, Kerry, Knapp Creek, Lamington, Laravale, Mount Barney, Mount Gipps, Mount Lindesay, Nindooinbah, Oaky Creek, O'Reilly, Palen Creek, Rathdowney, Running Creek, Sarabah, Southern Lamington, Tabooba, Tabragalba, Tamrookum, Tamrookum Creek, Undullah, Veresdale, Veresdale Scrub, Witheren, Wonglepong.

DRFA funding is also being provided to Logan City Council and Scenic Rim Regional Council for the reconstruction of essential public assets like roads and bridges, and for counter disaster operations including the removal of fallen trees and debris.

The Queensland Reconstruction Authority will continue monitoring local recovery efforts and stands ready to activate further DRFA support where required.

Quotes attributable to Federal Minister for Emergency Management Murray Watt:

"This assistance extends support to more Queenslanders impacted by the SEQ storms.

"We continue to support the recovery efforts by the State Government and local Councils. These payments will help those experiencing hardship due to the storms, as well as supporting clean up and repair efforts for entire communities."

Quotes attributable to minister responsible for the Queensland Reconstruction Authority Nikki Boyd:

"The Queensland Government continues to work closely with the Australian Government and impacted councils to ensure we support Queenslanders in need.

"If you were impacted by the storms and your locality has been announced as an eligible area, I encourage you to call the Queensland Community Recovery Hotline on 1800 173 349 to access financial support."

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.