Gunnedah Shire’s Australia Day Award recipients announced

Gunnedah Shire Council

Eleven Gunnedah Shire citizens and organisations have been recognised in the 2022 Gunnedah Shire Australia Day Awards.

Deputy Mayor and Chairman of the Australia Day Committee Cr Rob Hooke said the annual Australia Day Awards Dinner paid tribute to those who went above and beyond in the community.

“The Gunnedah Australia Day Awards Dinner is held on the eve of Australia Day, and is a wonderful way to kick off the events,” Cr Hooke said.

“Last night, we announced our Citizen of the Year (21 and Over) is Tracey Reid, who has been recognised as a compassionate and community-minded resident who has worked hard towards making a domestic violence shelter for women in Gunnedah a reality. Our sincerest thanks and congratulations to Tracey, who is building a better community for all of us.

“Our Young Citizen of the Year is Steven Hopwood. It is beautiful to see the community spirit and kindness of this young man. Well done Steven, and to the other people who were nominated for both Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year. Just to be nominated show how appreciated you are for what you do.

“There were 11 awards presented to 11 outstanding people and organisations, in categories as diverse as Sportsperson and Junior Sportsperson of the Year and the Good Neighbour Award. The works of these people and all the others who have been nominated for and received awards over the years have made our Shire what it is today.

“Volunteer work by passionate and compassionate residents makes a huge difference to our lives.”

The Gunnedah Shire Australia Day Award recipients for 2022 are:

o Citizen of the Year (21 and Over) – Tracey Reid

o Young Citizen of the Year (20 and Under) – Steven Hopwood

o Ossie and Beryl Campbell Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award – Gunnedah Golf Club

o Eve Turner Perpetual Trophy – Lynette Gleeson

o Community and Cultural Achievement Award – Dorothea Mackellar Memorial Society

o Max and Mikie Maas Good Neighbour Award – Olwyn Jones

o Sportsperson of the Year (21 and Over) – Paul Brady

o Junior Sportsperson of the Year (20 and Under) – Alice Edmunds

o Junior Sports Team of the Year Award (20 and Under) – Gunnedah Swimming Club

o Sports Team of the Year Award – Gunnedah Touch Association

o Ivan Towns Memorial Award Coach of the Year – Amanda Randall

Gunnedah Shire’s Australia Day Ambassador is Fiona Simson, who spoke at the awards about her own journey as a farmer and a leader for regional women and young people. Ms Simson is the President of the National Farmers Federation.

Caption: Gunnedah Shire celebrates its citizens at the Annual Australia Day Awards Dinner 2022.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.