Health Service Board chairpersons reappointed

  • Four of the inaugural Health Service Board chairpersons reappointed
  • Boards continue to drive performance and innovation in WA health system
  • Appointments extended for a further three-year term
  • Four of the inaugural Health Service Board chairpersons have been reappointed for a further three-year term.

    The Western Australian health system established five Health Service Boards in 2016 to help the system become more responsive to the changing needs of local communities, including the need to provide care closer to home.

    With their initial three-year terms expiring on June 30, 2019, four of the inaugural Health Service Board chairpersons have been asked to continue in their roles. They are:

    • Debbie Karasinski AM, Child and Adolescent Health Service Board;
    • Robert McDonald, South Metropolitan Health Service Board;
    • Ian Smith PSM, East Metropolitan Health Service Board; and
    • Professor Neale Fong, WA Country Health Service Board.

    The fifth board chairperson – Hon Jim McGinty AM, North Metropolitan Health Service – was appointed in July 2018 and is only one year into his term.

    The process for reappointment of Health Service Board members is currently underway.

    For more information about Health Service Boards, visit the Department of Health’s website.

    As stated by Health Minister Roger Cook:

    “The reappointment of these four board chairpersons is a testament to their leadership and the valuable contribution they are making to our health system.

    “Health Service Boards play a crucial role in ensuring the delivery of safe, high-quality and sustainable health care to our communities, while also driving clinical and financial performance.

    “These board chairpersons bring a wealth of skills and experience to their respective boards, and lead a dedicated focus on local health needs.”

    /Public Release. View in full here.