History Grants awarded

Department of Tourism, Sport and Culture

Recipients of the 2019-20 NT Government Northern Territory History Grants have been named. The grants help support research into the Territory’s history, and improve community access to and engagement with our past. Individuals and organisations could apply for grants up to $7000 from a total pool of $59,000.

The 12 successful recipients and their projects are:

· Pilotus Press Inc, Living in Hope: local publication and national launch

· Kirsty Howey, Town Camp History: Infrastructural Legacies

· Kim Vanessa Scott, Pushing Longshots: Bruce Litchfield, Architect, His Top End Years 1938-1948

· Dr Matthew Stephen, Jungung/Jack McGinness

· Dr Samantha Disbray, Stories in Pictures: A photographic history of Pintupi-Luritja country

· Karl Herzog, Portrait of Tennant Creek 1970s and 1980s

· Royal Australian Artillery Association (NT) Inc, Publication of Territorian Indigenous Military Service book

· Charles Darwin University, Perspectives on the Hellenic Diaspora, Vol II

· Derek Pugh, History of Cobourg settlements: Victoria and Fort Wellington

· Mike Longton, Gulf Women

· Robert Neville Alford, The 49th Fighter Group USAAF in Darwin’s Defence – a History

· Robyn Frances Higgins, The Real Map of Batchelor According to Me

As noted by Patrick Gregory, Senior Director, Library & Archives NT:

“The Territory has a rich and varied history and these grants will help these groups and individuals research elements of that history more thoroughly, to help us all discover more about this place we call home.

“Exploring our history helps us better understand what makes the Territory the unique and fascinating place it is today.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.