Hobart to host 2020 Toyota National Wheelchair AFL Championship

Disability Sports Australia (DSA), in partnership with the Australian Football League (AFL) are pleased to announce Hobart, Tasmania as the host location of the 2020 Toyota National Wheelchair AFL Championship.

From Thursday, 2 – Saturday, 4 April 2020, Australia’s best will take to the court in Hobart to battle it out for the title of 2020 National Champions. With significant development of the sport nationally over the past 12 months, the 2020 Nationals is shaping up to be the biggest to date, with a record number of teams set to contest the event.

Disability Sports Australia CEO, Jenni Cole, expressed her excitement in bringing the event to Tasmania: “It is absolutely fitting to have the Nationals in its state of origin in the year that the ParaQuad Association of Tasmania celebrate their 30th anniversary. Tasmania has been a passionate supporter of the sport and we are confident that they will put on an excellent event. We are sure that Tasmanians will get behind the sport and be there cheering on their home team.”

AFL National Disability Inclusion Manager, Tim Nield, echoed Ms Cole’s enthusiasm noting the sports growth in Tasmania over the past year: “We are proud to partner with Disability Sports Australia in bringing the Nationals to Tasmania in 2020, which will see the top footballers from across the country showcase the sport at the highest level. Over the past 12 months, Tasmania launched their inaugural league which is aligned with Tasmanian State League Football clubs, and we hope that through hosting the Nationals we can engage more people with a disability to play our great game.”

The sport has a long-standing history in Tasmania. It’s founder, Kevin Faulkner, is a Hobart local who has been instrumental in the sports growth nationally over the past five (5) years. Additionally, the Tasmanian state team has competed in three of the four previous National Championships coming home with two silver medals and a bronze. They will be looking to secure the elusive gold in front of a home crowd in early April 2020.

DSA and AFL will be working closely with local partners, ParaQuad Association of Tasmania and AFL Tasmania to deliver a must-see event in 2020!

The 2020 Toyota National Wheelchair AFL Championship will run for three (3) days with teams from across Australia competing for the national crown.

Location: Moonah Sports Centre, Hobart, TAS

Dates: Thursday, 2 – Saturday, 4 April 2020

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.