HRCC welcomes 11 new Australian citizens

Horsham Rural City Council has officially welcomed our newest Australian citizens to the community.

Eleven people from seven different countries were formally granted Australian Citizenship at the Civic Centre on Wednesday.

Countries of origin included The Philippines, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Canada, Italy, India and Iran.

Council officiates the ceremonies on behalf of the Australian Government and all new citizens receive a native plant as a gift from Council to mark the special occasion.

Mayor Robyn Gulline and Member for Lowan Emma Kealy were part of the ceremony.

“I always look forward to these events on our civic calendar and getting to meet our municipality’s newest Australian citizens and their families,” Cr Gulline said.

“We are delighted that they have chosen to make their permanent homes in our region – it is truly a great place to live.

“We are pleased to continue to deliver these important and special ceremonies using technology,” she said.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.