Hungary takes over Presidency of Committee of Ministers

CoE/Presidency of the Committee of Ministers

Hungary has taken over the Presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe from Germany during a video-conference meeting with representatives of the Organisation’s 47 member States.

Heiko Maas, Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs of Germany, gave an overview of his country’s achievements during its Presidency. The new Chair of the Committee of Ministers and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Hungary Péter Szijjártó presented the priorities of the Hungarian Presidency, which will run for six months.

These priorities include promoting the effective protection of national minorities, interreligious dialogue, “next generation”: children’s rights, youth participation, and Roma inclusion, technological and environmental challenges.

Web page of the Committee of Ministers’ Chairmanship

Hamburg Ministerial Session Press Conference: Remarks by the Secretary General, Council of Europe

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.