More AMA members receive Australia Day honours

Australian Medical Association

We've updated our list of AMA members who were honoured in the 2024 Australia Day awards.

Congratulations to all the AMA members who were honoured in this year's Australia Day awards, including Australian of the Year Professor Georgina Long AO.

The list includes Professor Kelvin Kong, Australia's first Indigenous surgeon, who was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

The Honourable Dr Brian Pezzutti, a former member of the NSW Legislative Council and decorated Army Reserve officer, was also made a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition for his significant service to the NSW parliament and community health.

The AMA member award recipients are:

Member of the Order of Australia - AM

Medal of the Order of Australia - OAM

Dr Brian Pezzutti, NSW

Associate Professor Kathleen Tymms, ACT

Dr Glendon Farrow, NSW

Dr Robin Fitzsimons, NSW

Dr Peter Frederiksen, NSW

Emeritus Professor Adrian Polglase, Vic

Dr Anne Knight, NSW

Associate Professor Matthew Chu, NSW

Dr Christine Longman, VIc

Emeritus Professor John Wark, Vic

Dr Christine McConnell, Qld

Professor Kirsten Auret, WA

Dr Robert North, NSW

Professor Chartlotte Hespe, NSW

Dr Matthew Young, Qld

Professor Kelvin Kong, NSW

Dr David Stabler, Qld

Associate Professor Felix Behan, Vic

Associate Professor Graham Gumley, NSW

Dr Robin Cooke, QLD

/AMA/AusMed News. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).