National cricket championships return to Geelong

The City of Greater Geelong is delighted to welcome the National Cricket Inclusion Championships for the fourth consecutive year.

The week-long tournament, which features top players from six states, starts on Monday 13 January.

Nine council ovals across Geelong will host the T20-format matches.

Participating venues include Burdoo Recreation Reserve, McDonald Reserve, Jarvis Oval, Walker Oval, Winter Reserve, Queens Park, South Barwon Reserve and Osborne Park.

Grand finals will be played at McDonald Reserve in Belmont on Friday 17 January.

The inaugural championships were held in Geelong in 2017, with the help of state government funding.

Teams from across the country have returned each year since.

Next week’s event is a joint effort between Cricket Australia and Geelong Cricket Association.

The competition comprises four divisions for athletes with a lived experience of disability.

All grounds have been prepared by local club volunteers and the City’s parks team to be ready for action.

Players will stay on residence at Deakin University.

/Public Release. View in full here.