New appointments to the ACMD

Experts in topics including pharmacology, pharmacy, and health economics have been recruited to help deliver the ACMD’s ongoing work.

The ACMD is an independent body which makes recommendations to government on the control of dangerous or otherwise harmful drugs, including classification and scheduling under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 and its regulations.

The new appointees being announced today are:

  • Mohammed Fessal, chief pharmacist for Change, Grow, Live, and a pharmacist special advisor at the Care Quality Commission
  • Professor Graeme Henderson, professor of pharmacology at the University of Bristol and trustee of the Bristol Drugs Project
  • Professor Roger Knaggs, associate professor in Clinical Pharmacy practice at the University of Nottingham
  • Dr Carole Hunter, lead pharmacist at the Alcohol and Drug Recovery Services at NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Professor Matthew Sutton, professor of Health Economics at the University of Manchester.
  • Professor David Taylor, director of pharmacy and pathology at the Maudsley Hospital, and professor of psychopharmacology at Kings College London.

The Chair of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs, Dr Owen Bowden-Jones, said:

I am delighted to welcome the new members to the ACMD. Their depth of expertise will ensure the Council provides the best advice on the harms of drug misuse and I look forward to working with each of them.

The 3 year appointments, which were approved by Home Secretary Sajid Javid and attract no remuneration, have been made in accordance with the code of practice of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA). The newly-appointed members take up their posts today.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.