New Australian missions in Marshall Islands and French Polynesia

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Australia is continuing the growth of our strong ties with the Pacific, today opening two new diplomatic missions in the Republic of the Marshall Islands and French Polynesia.

Today’s openings bring Australia’s diplomatic network in the Pacific to nineteen missions, making it the largest diplomatic network in the region of any country.

Australia now has official representation to every member of the Pacific Islands Forum, fulfilling a key commitment of the Australian Government’s Pacific Step-up.

The Australian Embassy to the Republic of the Marshall Islands and the Consulate-General in French Polynesia are now working to support Australia’s interests and increased engagement in our neighbourhood.

The new missions build on the opening of diplomatic missions in Tuvalu in 2018, the Cook Islands and Palau in 2019, and Niue in 2020.

We continue to strengthen our cooperation in areas such as maritime security, infrastructure, climate change and women’s empowerment, as well as our support for the health response to the COVID-19 pandemic and promoting the region’s economic recovery.

Australia is committed to continuing to work closely with our Pacific partners for a region that is prosperous and secure.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.