New Board appointments to oversee Tourism Australia’s critical role in tourism recovery

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

The Morrison Government has today announced two new appointments and three reappointments to the Tourism Australia Board, to lead the organisation in its major role in tourism recovery by encouraging Australians to see their own backyard and when the time is right, showing the world there is still nothing like Australia.

Harvey Norman Chief Executive Officer, Katie Page, and co-founder and proprietor of The Landsmith Collection, Alexandra Burt, have both been appointed for three-year terms.

Tourism Australia Chair, Bob East, has also been reappointed to the position, while Board member Jeffrey Ellison has been appointed Deputy Chair. Board member Bradley Woods has also been reappointed for another term.

These appointments come at a critical time for Tourism Australia who in the Budget received a record $231.6 million for 2020-21 to ramp up domestic marketing activities to encourage Australians to travel again, and ensure they are well placed to aggressively execute new campaigns to again attract international visitors when overseas travel is back on the table.

Federal Tourism Minister Simon Birmingham said the new appointments would inject further breadth of experience to the Board, whist the reappointments would bring important stability and continuity to the leadership of Tourism Australia.

“Australia’s tourism industry will continue to face immense challenges, and clear and decisive leadership will be crucial to ensuring Tourism Australia plays its part in helping the industry rebound from the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic,” Minister Birmingham said.

“Ms Page and Ms Burt will bring to the Board further knowledge and experience in tourism product, marketing and advertising, playing an important role in the execution of Tourism Australia’s strategic and targeted marketing initiatives going forward.

“The reappointments of Mr East, Mr Ellison and Mr Woods will also bring important stability to the leadership of the organisation through a period of unprecedented upheaval for our tourism industry.

“I would also like to thank the outgoing Deputy Chair Anna Guillan and fellow Board member David Seargeant for their significant contributions over the past three years.”

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.