New ILSC leadership to continue management of land and water rights

Minister for Indigenous Australians

Minister for Indigenous Australians, the Hon Ken Wyatt AM, MP, is proud to announce four new appointments to the Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation (ILSC) Board.

The ILSC’s Board provides a valuable oversight role for the corporation’s investments, ensuring its acquisition and management of land, sea and water country deliver social and economic benefits for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Mr Ian Hamm will commence as Chair on 1 December for a three-year term.

Mr Hamm, a Yorta Yorta man, has spent more than three decades in the public sector, across a variety of roles at federal and state levels, including Executive Director of Aboriginal Affairs Victoria. He has been a non-Executive Director and Chair of a number of not-for-profit organisations since 2000.

“Mr Hamm is a highly capable executive and I’m pleased he has agreed to bring his extensive experience to ILSC,” Minister Wyatt said.

“From agribusiness, though to tourism and urban development, ILSC plays an important role in supporting Indigenous businesses and communities build their capacity and generate income streams for the long term.

“His appointment will assist the ILSC to continue to identify investment opportunities and develop Indigenous projects in a sustainable way, returning more value from the Indigenous estate.”

The Minister thanked outgoing Chair, Mr Eddie Fry, for his commitment and strong advocacy over his term.

“Eddie has chaired ILSC through a significant period of reform and I appreciate his contribution in supporting the economic aspirations of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.”

Ms Gail Reynolds-Adamson has also been appointed as an ILSC Director for a three-year term, commencing on 4 January 2022.

Ms Reynolds-Adamson operates a specialist consultancy firm working with Indigenous Australians and has experience in designing and promoting tools for social, economic, organisational and development change. She is Chair of the Esperance Tjaltjraak Native Title Aboriginal Corporation and the South East Aboriginal Health Service.

Mr Hamm and Ms Reynolds-Adamson are joined by recent Board appointees, Mr Nigel Browne and Ms Kate Healy.

Mr Browne is the Chief Executive Officer of the Larrakia Development Corporation, having previously served as a Director on the board from 2006 and as Chair from 2010 to 2013. Mr Browne has held board positions with the North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency, Law Society (NT) and various other government and industry boards and committees.

Ms Healy is an experienced lawyer, executive and non-executive director and is currently a Director of PwC’s Indigenous Consulting. She has a background in commercial property law and business, and has led multiple commercial projects and social development initiatives.

“I congratulate all of these esteemed Australians and look forward to seeing ILSC go from strength-to-strength under their stewardship.”

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.