New Mayor and Deputy Mayor for City of Swan

Council October 2019.jpg

On Monday evening, Pearce Ward Councillor Kevin Bailey and Altone Ward Councillor David Lucas were respectively elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor of the City of Swan.

The two were appointed at a Special Meeting of Council at the Midland Town Hall.

Mayor Kevin Bailey replaces David Lucas, who was re-elected to the Altone Ward seat in Saturday’s Local Government elections.

Four new Councillors were elected and four Councillors returned. They join the seven other serving Councillors in representing five wards across the City.

In the Midland/Guildford Ward, Ian Johnson kept his seat while Rashelle Predovnik filled the seat left by Mark Elliott, who did not nominate for the election.

The highly contested Pearce Ward saw Cate McCullough retain her seat while Tanya Richardson succeeded David McDonnell.

In the Swan Valley/Gidgegannup Ward, Rod Henderson also retained his seat.

Whiteman Ward was also a close race, with Bryce Parry and Mel Congerton elected to the two vacant seats left by Maria Haynes and Adam Kovalevs, who chose not to nominate.

City Chief Executive Officer Mike Foley said this year’s election saw an impressive field of nominees.

“On behalf of the City, I would like to congratulate those who have been successful and thank everyone who nominated for a seat on Council,” he said.

“I would also like to formally farewell Mark Elliot, David McDonnell, Maria Haynes and Adam Kovalevs and thank them for their service to our community and administration.”

The first ordinary meeting of the new Council will take place on Wednesday November 13, 2019.

/Public Release. View in full here.