Nominate our best and brightest for Melbourne Awards

Nominations are now open for the City of Melbourne’s prestigious Melbourne Awards, which recognise the individuals, community groups and corporations who have made a positive and valuable contribution to our city.

Lord Mayor Sally Capp said the Melbourne Awards showcase some of the most driven and compassionate people in the municipality.

“The Melbourne Awards celebrate the outstanding Melburnians who contribute their time, knowledge and energy to make our city great,” the Lord Mayor said.

“I can’t wait to hear the stories of inspirational Melburnians – I encourage everyone to register a Melbourne-based initiative or organisation that has made a difference to our city.”

Melbourne’s residents and workers can nominate an individual for the prestigious Melburnian of the Year award. Last year Professor Doug Hilton AO was named as the top Melburnian, for his work leading medical researchers to urgently learn about COVID-19 and potential treatments.

“The Melburnian of the Year award is the city’s highest individual accolade,” the Lord Mayor said.

“Previous winners include the late music pioneer Michael Gudinski AM, leading research scientist Professor Sharon Lewin and Major Brendan Nottle of the Salvation Army.”

This year’s awards include new categories recognising knowledge and innovation and LGBTIQ community leadership, two themes which emerge in the shortlisting process each year.

“Melbourne is a city for everyone, but there is always more we can do to recognise the diverse experiences of people who identify as LGBTIQ,” the Lord Mayor said.

“This new award gives us an opportunity to thank devoted Melburnians for their work to promote acceptance and inclusion, whether it’s by running a festival, advocacy work, or setting up a pride committee in their workplace.”

The new Knowledge and Innovation category will recognise Melbourne’s thriving knowledge sector, which accounts for two thirds of employment in the municipality.

“The Knowledge and Innovation award will shine a spotlight on new ideas that show thinking outside the box – whether it’s personal tech, medical innovation or creative collaboration,” the Lord Mayor said.

Following engagement, the Aboriginal Melbourne category will be renamed Aboriginal Melbourne –  Kommargee Ketherba, which means ‘rise up together’ in the Boon Wurrung language. The new name is intended to better recognise the important work of Aboriginal communities.

Winners will be recognised through a ceremony luncheon, a photography exhibition showcasing their contributions to Melbourne, and a special television broadcast on Channel 9. The City of Melbourne will also introduce an alumni function for the first time, to give current and past winners a forum to network and exchange ideas.

The award categories are:

  • Knowledge and Innovation
  • Community
  • Sustainability
  • Aboriginal Melbourne – Kommargee Ketherba
  • Arts and Events
  • Urban Design
  • Hospitality

Registrations for the Melbourne Awards and Melburnian of the Year are open until Friday 11 June 2021. An independent panel of industry professionals from a range of sectors will select the finalists.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.