NT COVID-19 Update: Testing Requirements expanded for Brisbane, inclusive of Byron Bay

The Chief Health Officer has expanded COVID-19 testing requirements for those people who have arrived in the Northern Territory from areas in Queensland and New South Wales following a number of new cases.

The Chief Health Officer has directed that all people who arrived in the Northern Territory from the City of Ipswich, Logan City, Redland City, and Gladstone Region Local Government Areas since 25 March 2021, or from Byron Shire Council LGA in New South Wales since 27 March, must self-quarantine and get a COVID-19 test in the next 72 hours and must remain in self-quarantine until a negative test is returned.

These expanded testing requirements are in addition to testing requirements for people who have arrived in the Northern Territory from 20 March 2021 from the City of Brisbane and Moreton Bay Region Local Government Areas to self-quarantine and get tested. Anyone who has arrived in the NT from these areas between 12 March and 11:59pm on 19 March and who are showing any symptoms of COVID-19 must self-quarantine and get tested.

This does not include those people who transited through Brisbane Airport.

COVID-19 Hotline operating hours have been extended and our staffing capacity has been increased to meet expected demand.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.