Paris Call: Trust and security in cyberspace

From: Democratic Institutions


Supporters of the Paris Call commit to working together to adopt responsible behaviour and secure cyberspace, based on a set of nine common principles. These principles act as a non-binding declaration and set a precedent as the largest-ever multi-stakeholder cybersecurity agreement in modern history.

Today, over 95 governments, nearly 350 international organizations, as well as more than 600 private sector entities have endorsed the Paris Call for Trust and Security in Cyberspace. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau publicly pledged Canada’s support for the Paris Call in November 2018.

The ongoing digital revolution has presented many opportunities for innovation, economic progress, cultural development and access to information. It has also faced significant challenges, such as election interference, cybercrime, manipulation of information, political and economic espionage, theft of personal information and data, as well as attacks on infrastructure, governments and individuals.

These attacks are becoming increasingly sophisticated, and the Paris Call looks to bring the international community together to ensure peace and security in the digital space.

As part of the Paris Call, the Government of Canada co-leads, alongside Microsoft and the Alliance for Securing Democracy (ASD), on Principle 3: Defend Electoral Processes.

The three co-leads will work together to build a community of partners to counter election interference as a means to strengthen the capacity to prevent malign cyber interference by foreign actors in electoral processes.

Together, they will also raise global awareness of the threat cyberattacks pose to elections and democratic institutions, and develop best practices, policy responses and training exercises to provide security against cyber-enabled threats.

Other governments participating in the Paris Call include, but are not limited to, Australia, Chile, Germany, Japan, Norway, Poland, Senegal, South Korea, Sweden, the United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom.

/Public Release. View in full here.