Recognising Australia’s biosecurity champions

The Hon David Littleproud MP
Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management

The winners of the 2020 Australian Biosecurity Award were announced tonight, providing important recognition for those that contribute significantly to the nation’s world-leading biosecurity status.

Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management David Littleproud said the recipients included industry-leaders in biosecurity and individuals who have contributed to our biosecurity system over many decades.

“We continue to face real and growing biosecurity threats, with more incoming passengers, mail and cargo arriving on our shores,” Minister Littleproud said.

“Significant pests and diseases are spreading into new regions, presenting new risks for Australia. For instance, African swine fever is now right on our doorstep in Indonesia.

“The government is doing its part to keep significant threats out of Australia.

“Under new legislation that I introduced last year, visitors who seriously breach our biosecurity law on arrival at Australia’s borders can have their visas cancelled immediately and be refused entry to Australia.

“To directly address the threat of ASF, we will also soon have more 3D x-ray machines, detector dogs and officers on the ground.

“We should rightly recognise other individuals and groups that are helping keep pests and diseases off our farms, away from our environment and off our shores.

“This year’s winners include Dr Ron Glanville, who helped shape how biosecurity is managed in Queensland, as well as Seafarms Group, a leader in on-farm biosecurity within the aquaculture industry.

“NSW Department of Primary Industries & North Coast Local Land Services were also acknowledged for their combined efforts to eradicate a yellow crazy ant (YCA) infestation, which included using Australia’s first YCA detector dog.

“I congratulate all of the winners and thank them and all nominees for their valuable contributions to Australia’s biosecurity.”

The winners of the 2020 Australian Biosecurity Awards are:

  • The David Banks Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Dr Ron Glanville
  • Farm Biosecurity Producer of the Year category
  • Seafarms Group
  • Templeton Farming Enterprises
  • Government category
  • NSW Department of Primary Industries & North Coast Local Land Services
  • Industry category
  • Andrew Crawford
  • Manildra Group
  • Zoran Kostadinoski

The award winners were announced at the ABARES Outlook Conference dinner in Canberra on Tuesday 3 March.

For full details of the winners and more information on the 2020 Australian Biosecurity Awards, visit

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.