Squad announced for Domain Test Series against Sri Lanka

Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel has announced a 13-player squad for the two-match Domain Test Series against Sri Lanka commencing in Brisbane on 24 January.

The squad will assemble on 19 January.

Queensland duo Joe Burns and Matt Renshaw, and yet-to-debut Victoria batsman Will Pucovski have been included in the squad.

Australia Men’s Test Squad

Tim Paine (c) – Tasmania

Josh Hazlewood (vc) – New South Wales

Joe Burns – Queensland

Pat Cummins – New South Wales

Marcus Harris – Victoria

Travis Head – South Australia

Usman Khawaja – Queensland

Marnus Labuschagne – Queensland

Nathan Lyon – New South Wales

Will Pucovski – Victoria

Matt Renshaw – Queensland

Mitchell Starc – New South Wales

Peter Siddle – Victoria

Speaking on the squad, National Selector Trevor Hohns said:

“There is no doubt the India series produced some disappointing results and we have now reviewed the squad ahead of the series against Sri Lanka,” Hohns said.

“Joe Burns has had strong performances in first-class cricket this season, and we believe he can contribute strongly if given the chance in the series.

“Matt Renshaw is a player with the ability to make big scores, and at 22 years old has 10 first-class centuries. He also performed extremely well in England during the County season. We see him as a long-term prospect as a Test player and have confidence in his ability to bounce back following a string of low scores early in the Shield season.

“Will Pucovski is an exciting young player who is making his mark in the Sheffield Shield. He is another player with a track record of making centuries. We look forward to him joining the squad and congratulate him on his first national call-up.

“All three will play in the CA XI match prior to the first Test, to give them the best possible preparation to play Test cricket for Australia.”

Speaking on the omission of Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh and Mitch Marsh, Hohns said:

“Ultimately Aaron, Peter, Shaun and Mitch have not produced the performances expected of them with the bat at the Test level. They have been given good opportunity, but have not produced the scores we need.”

“All four are very good players, and the door is by no means closed for them to return to play Test cricket for Australia.

“They will all feature in the ODI Series against India, and each of them forms an integral part of our white-ball strategy and set-up at the moment as we also focus on our journey to the 2019 Cricket World Cup.”

“The challenge now is for them to make runs for Australia in the upcoming ODIs, and then to go back to the Sheffield Shield and make more runs.”

The panel has also confirmed a 11-player Cricket Australia XI side to take on Sri Lanka in Hobart, in a day-night, pink ball match from 17-19 January.

A 12th player will be named in due course. The squad will assemble on 15 January.

Cricket Australia XI Squad

Joe Burns (c) – Queensland

Kurtis Patterson (vc) – New South Wales

Scott Boland – Victoria

Jake Doran (wk) – Tasmania

Jon Holland – Victoria

Marnus Labuschagne – Queensland

Michael Neser – Queensland

Will Pucovski – Victoria

Jason Sangha – New South Wales

Matt Renshaw – Queensland

Chris Tremain – Victoria

Speaking on the CA XI, National Selector Trevor Hohns said:

“It is important to the panel that this selection is seen as prestigious and an opportunity to all players.

“CA XI squads have the chance to play cricket against international teams, and these matches give players selected the opportunity to press their case for higher honours.

“For this match, our focus has been on ensuring newcomers selected in the Test squad have ample batting preparation ahead of the Brisbane Test.

“Scott Boland, Chris Tremain and Michael Neser have all had very good first-class seasons and are knocking on the door for Australian selection.

“The CA XI squad is critical to our pathway system and continuing to harness identified talent at the highest possible level. The players in this squad are of interest to the National Selection Panel, as we look ahead to the World Cup and Ashes campaigns in 2019.”

Tickets to the Domain Test Series are available at www.cricket.com.au.

CA XI Tour Match

CA XI v Sri Lanka

17 – 19 January

Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Domain Test Series v Sri Lanka

First Test – Day-Night

The Gabba, Brisbane

24-28 January 2019

Second Test

Manuka Oval, Canberra

1-5 February 2019

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.