Sutherland Shire literary competition returns with additional new category

After a hugely successful inaugural year, the Sutherland Shire Literary Competition has returned and is again set to highlight literary talent from right across the Country.

The competition will promote the cultural richness of the Sutherland Shire and showcase the fantastic array of literary talent in the wider Australian Community, and is expected to attract hundreds of original work entries from Australian residents over 18 years.

First place in each category receives $1,000, with other generous prizes on offer. A special Shire Resident’s Prize can also be won in each category.

This year there is an additional prize category to recognise 250 years since Lieutenant James Cook and the crew of the Endeavour first made contact with the Gweagal community at Kamay Botany Bay National Park, in Kurnell.

The new fourth category, Short Stories with the theme “2020: Looking Back, Moving Forward”, joins the returning categories of best Rhyming Verse poetry, Free Verse poetry and Short Story.

Sutherland Shire Mayor, Councillor Carmelo Pesce said the new category was introduced to mark the important date in Australia’s history and acknowledge some very significant milestones in the coming year.

“Sutherland Shire Council recognises the importance of bringing all Australians together by acknowledging our shared heritage,” Mayor Pesce said.

“The arrival of HMB Endeavour brought about enormous change for Indigenous Australians and Council pays respect to the significance of the meeting of two cultures that took place in the Sutherland Shire nearly 250 years ago.”

Chair of the Literary Competition Committee, Cr Barry Collier added “The theme of this new category can be incorporated into a short story in many different ways and it is an opportunity to explore our shared history while promoting understanding and harmony as we move forward together.”

Major sponsors include Tradies Gymea, Moran Aged Care, the University of Wollongong, Club Central Menai and the NSW Government.

The competition received more than 550 entries from across Australia in its first year, including entries from every state and territory. Puberty Blues author Kathy Lette and Mayor Carmelo Pesce presented prizes to the winners at a glittering awards night at Hazlehurst Arts Centre.

Entries are open from 9am Monday 23 September, 2019 and close midnight Monday 16 December, 2019. To find out how to enter, visit:

/Public Release.