Technical Advisory Board appointments 2021/2022

Following a recent open and fair recruitment exercise, conducted in line with the Governance Code on Public Appointments, the Home Secretary has appointed the below individuals as members of the Technical Advisory Board (TAB) as industry and independent representatives for a period of 3 years.

Industry members

  • Alex Leadbeater (from 1 September 2021)

  • Neil Brown (from 10 January 2022)

  • Adrian Gorham (from 10 January 2022)

  • Nicola Pierce (from 10 January 2022)

  • Chris Diggens (from 1 March 2022)

Independent members

  • Alan Burnett (from 10 January 2022)

  • John Boutal (from 1 March 2022)

The Home Secretary has also agreed to reappoint the current independent Chair, Jonathan Hoyle, for a third term of 3 years from 1 May 2021, in line with the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

The TAB is a non-departmental public body which was established under the Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act 2000 and whose remit was expanded under the Investigatory Powers Act 2016.

The TAB has 2 main duties:

  • to consider the technical requirements and the financial consequences of a notice that is to be imposed upon a telecommunications operator (TO)
  • to provide advice to the Secretary of State if the TO seeks a review of the notice

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.